About Community Aspire

Two years after putting his backing band The Universal Expressions on hiatus, Scott Baker returns with his fourth solo record and first solely under just his own name. Writing songs between many acoustic shows during the past few years, this electric/eclectic release showcases many different styles over the course of ten tracks, as well as featuring many guest spots.

Together 15 years, drummer Timmy Scott returns to Baker’s side on eight songs and multi-instrumentalist/vocalist Bianca Henika help Baker’s arrangements come to life. Harmonies from Henika, Shar Molina (ex-Banana Convention) and Midland native Kimberly Megoran add depth to Baker’s vocals.

Known for his own original brand of rock around the Great Lakes Bay Region, the songs on Community Aspire nestle well together as the styles vary. From singer/songwriter to Americana, blues to straight rocking jams he has been known for, Baker put many different moments into this collection; ‘I Swear’ and ‘Hate To See You Go’ shine brightly with tight penmanship and catchy choruses. Guitar fans will enjoy the guest slots of both Adam Levy (ex-Norah Jones) on the rootsy ‘Good People’ and blues Legend Larry McCray on the blues funker ‘Reality’—as well as even a treat featuring both guitarists playing on the communion track ‘Free Song’-- a vamp that Baker sings with both guitarists and a chorus of guests over the lyric “we can all be free, if we can just be.” On top of Baker, McCray and Levy’s vocals and guitars, are vocalists Brandon Calhoon (Detroit/Nashville/L.A. staple), John Krogman and Mike Robertson (both notable Mid-Michigan artists in their own right), and Saginaw’s Bob Hausler on keyboards, among others. Elsewhere the album features rockers like ‘New Stunt’ and ‘Cult Classic,’ the personal acoustic track ‘The Final Chapter’ (complete with Beach Boys style harmonies from The Legal Matter’s Andy Reed), the mellow rocker ‘Fleeting’, and the epic stand-out album closer ‘Peninsulas’ in which Baker’s taste for stretching out accumulates with a string arrangement from Saginaw’s jazz giant Mike Brush. It ends with Baker’s soaring guitars cresting the songs’ wave.

A community of musicians helped me out every step of the way during the making of the album. Every time I reached out to see if I could sprinkle some magic on the tracks, I was grateful for each artist that said yes and came through.

The album was recorded at Harvest Canteen Studio and the final mix and mastering done by Andy Reed at Reed Recording Co.—both in Bay City, MI.

I truly believe that the power of the people begins in the community. From how we raise our children, to how we stand in solidarity as a whole for the betterment of each other. Love and progress can expand only when we join our neighbors and support our localities. Each song is a piece of the cloth we sew together and each artist that helped out is a close friend and major contributor to our musical art scene. I hope these songs inspire and catch on to spread the word everywhere they are heard.

Review Awards

Scott has received numerous nominations since 2001 for Mid-Michigan’s Review Magazine Awards (biggest music awards showcase north of Detroit).

  • 2013 Best Blues Band
  • 2013 Best Blues Instrumentalist
  • 2012 Best Solo Artist
  • 2009 Best Duo of the Year
  • 2007 Band of the Year
  • 2007 Band Deserving Wider Recognition
  • 2005 Musician Deserving Wider Recognition
  • 2004 Band Deserving Wider Recognition
  • 2003 Musician Deserving Wider Recognition

National & Local Highlights

  • Opened for Three Days Grace in 2015
  • Opened for Styx (over 9,000 ppl) in 2011
  • Opened for Bettye LaVette in 2011
  • Opened for Popa Chubby in 2011
  • Opened for Rock & Roll Hall of Fame Group Creedence Clearwater in 2003
  • Opened and performed with Blues Legend Larry McCray since 1999
  • Performed, worked in the studio, assisted at WMG Records with Dick Wagner (Alice Cooper/Lou Reed/The Frost) from 2001-2003
  • Performing with Blues Princess Sharrie Williams in 2003
  • Performed for Mark Farner (Grand Funk) in 2005 in the Mid-Michigan Songwriters Guild
  • Opening & performing with Frank Bang (ex-Buddy Guy) since 2006
  • Recorded with & performed with Adam Levy (ex-Norah Jones guitarist) in 2007
  • Opened for Blackberry Smoke in 2007
  • Performed many times with Bob Hausler (ex-Merle Haggard guitarist)
  • Performed with Drew Nelson
  • Recorded with Northwoods Improvisers in 2007
  • Opened for Too Slim & The Taildraggers in 2007
  • Performed as a headliner at the Sugar Island Music Festival in 2008, 2014
  • Performed with The Steepwater Band since 2009
  • Opened for Shane Dwight Blues Band in 2011
  • Performed with Whitey Morgan and the 78s
  • Performed with Paul Lamb and the Detroit Breakdown

Previous Releases

Scott Baker has also released an album and two EP's with Muddy Gumbo prior to going solo in 2005. He has performed all over Michigan for the past 18 years.


Go To Top Of Page
All Rights Reserved 2023, Scott Baker | Community Aspire   ➤  Cleveland Web Design by Alt Media Studios